Tushnet, “Copyright Law, Fan Practices, & the Rights of the Author”

August 17, 2008

The moral-rights theory intrigues me, especially in light of my self-proclamation as a writer.  I can certainly imagine being offended if someone I didn’t even know took considerable and inappropriate liberties with a character I had carefully crafted and presented to the world.  On the other hand, I have also written favorite characters into stretching situations and at times even rewritten endings to narratives I found unsatisfactory, believing it my right as the reader to engage with the text however I chose (though I suppose the writer in me always held true to the character that even creative license could not excuse the altering of).  It reminds me of J. K. Rowling’s movie contracts.  She sold the rights to her books, but not the rights to her characters, because she wanted to control what her characters were allowed (or made) to do.

Leave a Reply

