Gosling, “Girls Allowed? The Marginalization of Female Sport Fans”

August 17, 2008

Not being a female sport fan myself (well, maybe soccer), I really don’t care. But I am the only female in my family who does NOT care about sports–any sports, all sports. My mom disowns me every time I groan about having to watch some random sport on TV instead of a good movie. The ATTITUDE concerning the exclusion of female sport fans, now, that one will get my back up. One thing that bothered me: “English men are very unsure of their sexual identities and, consequently, have to reaffirm themselves as real men by talking about women in a way that is derogatory” (qtd. 253). That is not a healthy coping strategy, and it certainly is not a solution! If men don’t know who they are, degrading women is not going to help.

Leave a Reply

