Brooker, “A Sort of Homecoming: Fan Viewing & Symbolic Pilgrimage”

August 17, 2008

I’m not sure I am convinced by the assertions of this article.  I am more inclined to agree that watching TV is “a passive, brainless, numbing act” (152) than that it is “immersion and journey” (156).  I can go anywhere I want, be anyone I want, and learn anything I want through reading a book.  My brain activity is through the roof, even when reading silly murder mysteries.  Your brain activity is next to nil when the TV is on.  If you’re taking a journey, it’s one of escape.  It’s hard to engage with TV as anything more intellectual and beneficial than that. (But maybe that’s my undergrad speaking again.)

Leave a Reply

