Week 9 Monday

November 19, 2007

Today was hands-down my favorite class all quarter. I’m really interested in the emerging church and how people are doing church differently, particularly by incorporating the arts and community commitments. We are relational creatures and long for intimate connection with each other. So it was really helpful to get a snapshot of what churches around the country and in the UK are up to these days in areas where “normal” church isn’t working. It makes me think hard, though, about my home church set in an area very much inculturated by Christianity. The way my church runs is very traditional mainline, but it works. It works really well in a lot of ways (notwithstanding the leadership issues I discuss in my paper on imperialism). So I’m trying to balance the way I’ve grown up with the interests and desires God is placing on my heart these days. Anyway, I really found today’s class helpful. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

