Week 3 – “Making the Connections” Pui-lan

October 12, 2007

Two points to make:

1) It’s true that as a white woman, it’s a little weird to have the dual oppressor / oppressed thing going on. I don’t usually identify myself as either unless confronted, but it is a strange position to be in. I’m not really sure what I think about it yet…

2) Pui-lan’s conclusion that women need to read together as a community and challenge each other to be aware of biases and agendas reminds me of Slemon’s conclusion about needing to share each other’s stories. Stories. Community. It’s all part of knowing each other, relating to each other on our common ground–humanity, image of God–and building each other up while holding each other accountable and confessing to one another. I’m feeling very Bonhoeffer-ian at the moment.

One Response to “Week 3 – “Making the Connections” Pui-lan”

  1. Andy O said

    Great thoughts! I wrote my response for this week on this post.

Leave a Reply

